i started the year forcing myself to stay awake till midnight. i must be getting old because that has never been hard before. also i am sick so that doesn't help things much. unfortunately i have been under the weather since christmas eve. i am so done with not being able to breathe properly and coughing up gross stuff. hopefully it is not a sign of things to come.
new years day was pretty great though, slept in and ate lots of good food, including good luck ozoni. we went to see the movie AVATAR that everyone is talking about. i had all these expectations because of everything people were saying and thought i would be disappointed. thankfully i was not. the movie was cool and the effects were amazing. it really made me want to visit their planet and of course take care of our own. someone wants what you have so you start a war to take it away. hmm sounds familiar.
what do i want for 2010? i guess this would be new years wishes.
1. health
2. happiness
3. money (a job)
i think that just about sums it up. everything that i want for this year would go under those three categories somehow. i think that is the order of importance for me because if i don't have my health then i cannot have the other two. 2009 will be hard to beat but i have a feeling that this year will be better!
HEALTH
of greatest importance is my health. included in this category would be eating right and exercising. thankfully these are things that i enjoy doing. the last couple months have been pretty gluttonous. i have a hard time not filling myself with delicious foods when it is in front of me. i have to eat until i am uncomfortably full...but i am working on this. okinawans have a phrase, "hara hachi bu" which means 80% full. i want to practice this. i love my veggies and health food in general. thank goodness the holidays are over!
my gym membership is still good and they are in the middle of a renovation so it will be bigger and better. i need to be more consistent with this. it got really cold and so i am wearing long underwear everywhere. it just seems like such a hassle to change out of them and into gym clothes and then back into them afterwards. pain in the ass. so i haven't gone in awhile because of that.
HAPPINESS
koko ni sachi ari. my life is wonderful and i am thankful to have all the people in my life today. i am really happy. could it be my relationship of the last 11 months? could it be all the free time and no stress of work? could it be ___? i am not sure but i am glad i am feeling this way. i have hope for this upcoming year that it will only get better. there will be trials and tribulations. there will be hardships. there will be fighting and unhappiness. there will also be my support system all around me to carry me through. awesome!
MONEY
that's what i want. it has been about 6 months with my RN license and still no job despite looking and applying all the time. it is a little frustrating but i believe there is a reason for it so i am going with it. i am doing the work and waiting for results. not much else i can do. so while i am waiting for that first nursing job to come, i still need to make money so i am looking all over the place for work. we'll see what happens.
happy new year!
Showing posts with label health. Show all posts
Showing posts with label health. Show all posts
02 January 2010
07 November 2007
#26 - good and bad news
bad news first, always.
bad news is plentiful.
one, my cholesterol is up again at 210. it's supposed to be less than 200. i took a blood test as requested by my awesome NP and that's the only thing abnormal - total cholesterol. i knew it too. i could feel it in my arteries i guess. i've been eating pretty crappy lately. just whatever i wanted.
two, i can't eat all the stuff i've been eating. no more 2 eggs a day. no more pepperoni pizzas. no more cheese with every meal. no more genoa, sopressata, or finocchiona salamis. oh how i ache. i had fried chicken for lunch today. this is why my cholesterol is up. i love fried eggs, all runny and warm. i've even come to like poached eggs, on toast. a little salt and pepper. and of course bacon would complete the perfect breakfast sandwich.

three, i'm going home in a month and 10 days and i will be tempted to eat as many loco mocos as i can. you see, a loco moco is pretty much my perfect cholesterol-laden hawaii comfort food. you've got rice, a hamburger patty, fried egg and gravy all over. plus lots of pepper and definitely a side of mac. it's just delicious, and what i want when i go home. i eat it everywhere.

so enough with bad news. there is good in all this.
good news is...i'll be going back to being vegetarian. it's really the only way for me. i've gotta have it all or nothing. i got my cholesterol all the way down to almost 100 i think the last time i was a veg. i enjoy all my veggies, tofu, and even beans now. so there is no reason not to be veg for me...except i love my salami, bacon, pork ribs, lamb, chicken, and steak. my problem really is self-control. i have none. so if i am not vege then i just go all crazy with meats. it's a good thing beer doesn't have cholesterol.
i'll still eat eggs for now, just not as many yolks. i've got some chicken to eat in the fridge too. at least i'll go to a thanksgiving dinner with tofurky available. yum. i actually am not too crazed about turkey on t-day, it's all about the STUFFING!
bad news is plentiful.
one, my cholesterol is up again at 210. it's supposed to be less than 200. i took a blood test as requested by my awesome NP and that's the only thing abnormal - total cholesterol. i knew it too. i could feel it in my arteries i guess. i've been eating pretty crappy lately. just whatever i wanted.
two, i can't eat all the stuff i've been eating. no more 2 eggs a day. no more pepperoni pizzas. no more cheese with every meal. no more genoa, sopressata, or finocchiona salamis. oh how i ache. i had fried chicken for lunch today. this is why my cholesterol is up. i love fried eggs, all runny and warm. i've even come to like poached eggs, on toast. a little salt and pepper. and of course bacon would complete the perfect breakfast sandwich.
three, i'm going home in a month and 10 days and i will be tempted to eat as many loco mocos as i can. you see, a loco moco is pretty much my perfect cholesterol-laden hawaii comfort food. you've got rice, a hamburger patty, fried egg and gravy all over. plus lots of pepper and definitely a side of mac. it's just delicious, and what i want when i go home. i eat it everywhere.
so enough with bad news. there is good in all this.
good news is...i'll be going back to being vegetarian. it's really the only way for me. i've gotta have it all or nothing. i got my cholesterol all the way down to almost 100 i think the last time i was a veg. i enjoy all my veggies, tofu, and even beans now. so there is no reason not to be veg for me...except i love my salami, bacon, pork ribs, lamb, chicken, and steak. my problem really is self-control. i have none. so if i am not vege then i just go all crazy with meats. it's a good thing beer doesn't have cholesterol.
i'll still eat eggs for now, just not as many yolks. i've got some chicken to eat in the fridge too. at least i'll go to a thanksgiving dinner with tofurky available. yum. i actually am not too crazed about turkey on t-day, it's all about the STUFFING!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)