i just got my bike out for the first time in probably close to a year. both tires were really flat so i had to put air in them and be sure i was good to go. i was worried i would forget how to bike and i was definitely a little afraid of biking in traffic. of course i still remember HOW to ride but it was a little awkward.
the day that i took my first ride of 2010 was so gorgeous, almost knocking on summer's door. summers in oregon are so amazing and i am really excited for it to come. i thought for sure the sun and warmth would last.. unfortunately today it got really COLD! i had heard rumors about snow in the next couple days and did not believe it because i swear it was in the upper 60's the other day. so imagine my surprise when i looked out the window today and saw snow falling down! granted, it is probably in the low 40s right now but hey it's MARCH for crying out loud! the cherry blossoms are in bloom and flowers are popping out everywhere so dammit, snow, stay away! i am ready to go out in t-shirts and maybe a light sweatshirt. no more winter clothes...grrr... i do enjoy the winter and this one was quite short with not enough rain (yes, i said it!) or snow. the sun is such a tease! i was dreaming of summer days and nights, staying out till nine and it still being light out. oh yeah! picnics, hikes, bikes, parties, swimming, the coast, etc. summer is going to rock!
so my bike is out and ready to ride. i will ride in the cold but not rain or snow. i am so fair weather. but i have a bus pass so its all good and i don't care what you bike people think.. its for fun and not my main mode of transport. maybe someday that will change but for now it's just fun to ride. i can get some exercise while also getting fresh air and going from point A to B faster, not having to wait for the bus. OOH CAN'T WAIT FOR SUMMER!! i should change the title to "summer"
Showing posts with label winter. Show all posts
Showing posts with label winter. Show all posts
08 March 2010
27 February 2009
#174 - i want spring
yesterday morning i walked out the door and there was snow on the ground. yes, this is still february but it's the portland metro area, it should only snow ONCE A YEAR! it has been such a crazy winter and i am so ready for spring. i've never had spring fever like this before. it's such a tease because the sun keep peeking out and some days are clear as can be (but cold). it hasn't rained much this year and so it's just been strange.
i am totally ready for spring. i want to go on bike rides, have picnics, take a hike, enjoy the sun, be outside and feel healthy/good. the winter has been long! winter is a good excuse to stay inside and do indoor things. i am a wimp and realize that i can do all those above things (except maybe picnics and sun) during the winter...i just don't want to. it is sunny today and may get warm but i am ready for some consistency. maybe the same weather for two days in a row...it may be a reach but hey, that's what i want!
i'm working on and finalizing my taxes right now. i've had them almost done for awhile, just been putting them off. had a big test (which i bonked on), clinicals, school and a bunch of other stuff (dodgeball) so i just didn't finish. i've been playing dodgeball a lot, 3 nights a week of team play, not just pickup. it's such a huge commitment and has become kind of a drag. once i am there it's fun and cool but some days it takes an hour to get there and an hour home so it gets to be long days. still, i enjoy hitting people with rubber balls.
i've been a little under the weather for the past couple weeks too so i think if it were sunny i would be feeling better. plus right now i am at the library sitting next to some smelly dude. i wanna hurl. so i think i'll end this here, now. please....sun....soon!
i am totally ready for spring. i want to go on bike rides, have picnics, take a hike, enjoy the sun, be outside and feel healthy/good. the winter has been long! winter is a good excuse to stay inside and do indoor things. i am a wimp and realize that i can do all those above things (except maybe picnics and sun) during the winter...i just don't want to. it is sunny today and may get warm but i am ready for some consistency. maybe the same weather for two days in a row...it may be a reach but hey, that's what i want!
i'm working on and finalizing my taxes right now. i've had them almost done for awhile, just been putting them off. had a big test (which i bonked on), clinicals, school and a bunch of other stuff (dodgeball) so i just didn't finish. i've been playing dodgeball a lot, 3 nights a week of team play, not just pickup. it's such a huge commitment and has become kind of a drag. once i am there it's fun and cool but some days it takes an hour to get there and an hour home so it gets to be long days. still, i enjoy hitting people with rubber balls.
i've been a little under the weather for the past couple weeks too so i think if it were sunny i would be feeling better. plus right now i am at the library sitting next to some smelly dude. i wanna hurl. so i think i'll end this here, now. please....sun....soon!
19 November 2007
#32 - snow!
timberline is opening tomorrow! whoooo!! i haven't been snowboarding in so long. hopefully i still remember how. i'm sure the first time out will be pretty painful, get the rust off. oh i can just feel it now...powder! well, oregon powder that is. my friend danny is trying to get me out to colorado where he said snow is so dry and amazing. maybe spring break.
i took this class at oregon state - snowboarding! we'd go up every thursday to mt. bachelor. we'd have an hour or so of class then off on our own!! it was so nice to go up to the mountain every week. i took the class three times!! boo yah. the unfortunate things for me right now are:
1) no vehicle, let alone one that would make it up to the mountain through snow
2) no time
3) no money
4) no friends going (yet)
hopefully i'll be able to remedy this situation. time and money kind of compete with each other. i will make it happen.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)